Keith Weaver

Keith Weaver was born in Lindsay and raised in Coboconk, but now live in Toronto. His novel, Balsam Sirens, takes place at Balsam Lake.

Publisher website:

For Mark Whelan, Private Investigator, it all begins in a sombre but entirely unremarkable way: a visit to the morgue to provide moral support to a client as he formally identifies his brother. But Whelan’s interest is piqued by a link between the victim’s death and Whelan’s own youth and by signs that the death is the result of something darker than the “accident” being suggested by the police. The appearance of a mysterious message from the dead man, the discovery that his apartment had been burgled, and an attempt on Whelan’s life prove that something else, something very valuable, is in play. Then the bodies begin to pile up. Balsam Sirens tells the story of a private investigator who takes on a case that appears routine, but who is soon swept to the edge of a psychological abyss by the abduction of his wife. Whelan, a PI colleague, and an unlikely ally – a fearless bush pilot called Kate – drive the action forward to a gun battle and a surprising outcome.

An Uncompromising Place
Recipe Cops
Balsam Sirens

Linwood Barclay

During his teen years, author Linwood Barclay lived at Green Acres Trailer Park in Bobcaygeon. He writes about the experience in his memoir, Last Resort.

Last Resort

Other works:

Parting Shot
The Twenty-Three
Far From True
No Time for Goodbye
Broken Promise
Fear the Worst
Trust Your Eyes
Final Assignment
Never Look Away
Too Close to Home
Never Saw It Coming
The Accident
Bad Move
No Safe House

Walter Stewart (1931-2004)

Journalist and author Walter Stewart (1931-2004) was the prolific author of non-fiction; his only two fiction works, Right Church, Wrong Pew and Hole in One are small town murder mysteries set in Kawartha Lakes, published by HarperCollins.

Born in Toronto, Stewart attended high school in London, graduating in 1949. Stewart once described his hobbies as “reading, writing, and arguing.” In high school, he wrote for the London Echo. An honours student in history, he quit university early and went to work for the Toronto Telegram.

Stewart did not enjoy his time at the Telegram. “What I learned about journalism there, was that it was a suspect craft, dominated by hypocrisy, exaggeration, and fakery. At the Tely, we toadied to advertisers, eschewed investigative reporting, slanted our stories gleefully to fit the party line (Conservative) and to appeal to the one man who counted – the publisher, John F. Bassett.”

Stewart went on to work for Star Weekly (the magazine published by the Toronto Star), McLean’s Magazine, where he eventually became managing editor, and among many other journalism jobs, including teaching for universities, while also penning his books.

His most famous book, The Life and Times of Tommy Douglas, resulted in Douglas being named The Greatest Canadian, while his most controversial book, The Charity Game: Greed, Waste and Fraud in Canada’s $86-Billion-a-Year Compassion Industry ended up pulled from shelves.

From his youth, his family vacationed in Sturgeon Point, where eventually Stewart settled and wrote freelance. He wrote “gently humourous portrayals of his neighbours whom he represented as mildly ironic, but sympathetic, characters” and created the fictitious Kawartha Lakes town, Bosky Dell.

Walter Stewart died of cancer at his home in Sturgeon Point on September 15, 2004. He never learned to drive.


Right Church, Wrong Pew (1990)
Hole in One (1992)


Shrug: Trudeau in Power (1971)

Divide and Con: Canadian Politics at Work (1973)

Hard to Swallow: Why Food Prices Keep Rising and What Can Be Done About It (1974)

But Not in Canada! Smug Canadian Myths Shattered by Harsh Reality (1976)

As They See Us (1977)

Strike! (1977)

Paper Juggernaut: Big Government Gone Mad (1979)

Towers of Gold, Feet of Clay: the Canadian banks (1982)

True Blue: The Loyalist Legend (1985)

Uneasy Lies the Head: The Truth About Canada’s Crown Corporations (1987)

The Golden Fleece: Why the stock market costs you money (1992)

Too Big to Fail: Olympia & York: The story behind the headlines (1993)

Belly Up: The Spoils of Bankruptcy (1995)

The Charity Game: Greed, Waste and Fraud in Canada’s $86-Billion-a-Year Compassion Industry (1996)

Bank Heist: How our financial giants are costing you money (1997)

Dismantling the State: Downsizing to Disaster (1998)

M.J.: The Life and Times of M.J. Coldwell (2000)

My Cross-Country Checkup: Across Canada by Minivan, Through Space and Time (2000)

The Life and Political Times of Tommy Douglas (2003)

Virginia Winters

Virginia Winters was a long-time paediatrician in Lindsay. Now retired, she is the author of a series of suspense novels with a genealogy bent called Dangerous Journeys. The books take retired doctor, Anne McPhail, to various locations in Haliburton. The latest is nuber 6 in the series, The Ice Storm Murders.

Dr. Winters graduated in medicine from Queen’s University in 1971.

In 2017, she began a new series, featuring a new protagonist, art conservationist Sarah Downing, art conservationist. The first book, Painting of Sorrow, published May 15, 2017.

A collection of her short stories is available in A Superior Crime and other stories, published February 2018.

Virginia blogs about writing, travel, genealogy, current events and gardening at She also posts book reviews, and some of her photography at

Virginia lives in Lindsay, Ontario with her husband George, a retired internist, and standard poodle Cully.